2017 CFDA Fashion Awards Winners: The Complete List

The 2017 Council of Fashion Designers of America Awards took place at Hammerstein Ballroom, New York City, where designers, models, and style icons like Bella Hadid, Nicole Kidman, and Lupita Nyong’o will be applauding for the winners, Vogue reports.

The CFDA Fashion Awards, in partnership with Swarovski for the sixteenth year, was hosted by comedian Seth Meyers, who previously hosted the event in June 2012.

According to E! News, there were some famous presenters like Jon Bon Jovi, who presented the first-ever Swarovski Award for Positive Change to his good friend, designer Kenneth Cole. The legendary rocker, who was well-dressed for the occasion, said a poignant quote, “It’s great to be recognized for your shoes, but it’s better to be recognized for your soul.”

The chairwoman of CFDA, Diane Von Furstenberg, previously said in a statement, “I am so happy that Seth agreed to be our host.” She noted that Meyers’ “charm, wit and intelligence will enhance an evening that we plan to be very festive.”

According to the site of CFDA, the awards, which started in 1981, are the “highest honor in fashion and recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion in womenswear, menswear, and accessories as well as journalism, creative vision, personal style, and lifetime achievement.”

Here’s the list of winners:

Menswear Designer of the Year:

WINNER: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Robert Geller

Thom Browne

Tim Coppens

Todd Snyder


Accessory Designer of the Year:

WINNER: Stuart Vevers for Coach

Irene Neuwirth

Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

Paul Andrew

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row


Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent:

Laura Vassar and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection

Gabriela Hearst

WINNER: Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse

Virgil Abloh for Off-White

Sander Lak for Sies Marjan


Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Joseph Altuzarra

WINNER: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Marc Jacobs

Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row


Inaugural Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga

The Founder’s Award: Pat McGrath

Board of Directors’ Tribute: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáe

Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani, Italian Vogue editor-chief, posthumous