Bon Iver and The National Set to Release a Collaborative Album This Summer

Bon Iver’s frontman Justin Vernon and The National’s guitarists Aaron and Bryce Dessner recently presented a new online music platform called PEOPLE. Among the first tracks that were available on the platform were four songs recorded by Vernon and Bryce Dessner under the name Big Red Machine. It looks like this was just the beginning.

Justin Vernon recently spoke with The Creative Independent and announced that Big Red Machine had an album prepared, which will be released in installments through summer.

“Big Red Machine is a PEOPLE thing,” – said Vernon. “We’re gonna get some of our friends in the industry to help us spread the word and to distribute some of the vinyl maybe…I think there’re four songs out there now. We have a 10-song record that we’ll be spraying out throughout the rest of the summer. We just wanted to put something up in the player for now.”

Shifting his focus to PEOPLE and Big Red Machine, Justin Vernon has been quiet when it comes to Bon Iver. The band’s last album, critically acclaimed 22, A Million, came in 2016 and since then they haven’t released any new music.

Aaron and Bryce Dessner, on the other side, have been very active with The National lately. They released an album in 2017, Sleep Well Beast, and presented live album Boxer (Live in Brussels) in April 2018.