The Cast of “The Big Sick” and Jamie Bell to Be Honored at 2017 Hollywood Film Awards

The Hollywood Film Awards honors the most acclaimed films and actors as well as previewing highly anticipated films and talent for the upcoming year. The 21st annual award ceremony will be hosted by James Cordon and will be taking place at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California on November 5, 2017.

As part of their aim to recognize Hollywood’s best work of the year, Dick Clark Productions announced on Monday that the cast of The Big Sick will be receiving the Hollywood Comedy Ensemble Award.

The rom-com was an instant hit with a 98% “Fresh” rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Is stars Holly Hunter and Ray Romano who play the parents of grad student (Zoe Kazan) who falls in love with a struggling comedian from a Pakistani family (Kumail Nanjiani). In fact, The Big Sick is based on the real-life courtship between Nanjiani and a grad student who fall in love and their struggle due to culture differences.

Also confirmed on Monday as honoree is Jamie Bell, who will receive the New Hollywood Actor Award for his work in Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool. Previously announced honorees include Blade Runner 2049 producers A. Kosove, Broderick Johnson and Cynthia Sikes Yorkin who will receive the Hollywood Producer Award, and Sam Rockwell and Allison Janney, who will receive the Hollywood Supporting Actor and Actress Awards respectively.