“The Favourite” Lives Up to its Name at the 2018 BIFA Awards

The Favourite was a front-runner at the British Independent Film Awards from the very start, but once the time for this ceremony finally came – it really wreaked havoc. The critically acclaimed royal satire won a total of ten awards, dominating in all the major categories.

BIFA voters named The Favourite the best film of the year, and also rewarded it with the best director and best screenplay awards. Acting honors went to both Olivia Colman and Rachel Weisz.

The Favourite led the way with a total of 13 nods this year. The only nominations that didn’t result in a win were the ones for editing and sound, and Stone’s supporting actress nod.

Other movies didn’t stand a chance and only three of them ended up picking up multiple awards at 2018 British Independent Film Awards – Ray & Liz, American Animals, You Were Never Really Here.

Full List Of Winners At 2018 British Independent Film Awards:

Best British Independent Film: “The Favourite”

Best Director: Yorgos Lanthimos, “The Favourite”

Best Screenplay: Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, “The Favourite”

Best Actress: Olivia Colman, “The Favourite”

Best Actor: Joe Cole, “A Prayer Before Dawn”

Best Supporting Actress: Rachel Weisz, “The Favourite”

Best Supporting Actor: Alessandro Nivola, “Disobedience”

Most Promising Newcomer: Jessie Buckley, “Beast”

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director): Richard Billingham, ”Ray & Liz”

Debut Screenwriter: Bart Layton, “American Animals”

Breakthrough Producer: Jacqui Davies, “Ray & Liz”

The Discovery Award: “Voyageuse”

Best Documentary: “Evelyn”

Best British Short Film: “The Big Day”

Best International Independent Film: “Roma”

Best Casting: “The Favourite”

Best Costume Design: Sandy Powell, “The Favourite”

Best Cinematography: Robbie Ryan, “The Favourite”

Best Editing: Nick Fenton, Julian Hart and Chris Gill, “American Animals”

Best Effects: Howard Jones, “Early Man”

Best Make Up & Hair Design: Nadia Stacey, “The Favourite”

Best Production Design: Fiona Crombie, “The Favourite”

Best Music: Jonny Greenwood, “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Sound: Paul Davies, “You Were Never Really Here”

Special Jury Prize: Horace Ové

Variety Award: Felicity Jones

Richard Harris Award: Judi Dench