“The Favourite” Tops List of Gotham Awards Nominations

The Independent Filmmaker Project unveiled this year’s list of nominations for Gotham Awards and it’s filled with intriguing titles we should definitely remember come Oscar time. The Favourite and First Reformed led the way with three nominations each, including one in the Best Feature category.

Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz scored a victory before even showing up since their performances in The Favourite are apparently a league of its own.

Instead of nominating the three separately in the Best Actress category, the masterminds behind this ceremony came up with a special jury award for ensemble performance which will be given to the trio on November 26, when the winners of the Gotham Awards will be announced.

Best Feature
The Favourite
First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk
Madeline’s Madeline
The Rider

Best Documentary
Bisbee ’17
Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Minding the Gap
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Best Actor
Adam Driver– BlacKkKlansman
Ben Foster– Leave No Trace
Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Ethan Hawke – First Reformed
Lakeith Stanfield – Sorry to Bother You

Best Actress
Glenn Close – The Wife
Toni Collette – Hereditary
Kathryn Hahn – Private Life
Regina Hall – Support the Girls
Michelle Pfeiffer – Where Is Kyra?

Best Screenplay
Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara – The Favourite
Paul Schrader – First Reformed
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life
Andrew Bujalski – Support the Girls
Cory Finley – Thoroughbreds

Breakthrough Actor
Yalitza Aparicio – Roma
Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade
Helena Howard – Madeline’s Madeline
KiKi Layne – If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Ari Aster – Hereditary
Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade
Jennifer Fox – The Tale
Crystal Moselle – Skate Kitchen
Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
Alias Grace
Big Mouth
The End of the F***ing World
Killing Eve
Sharp Objects

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
195 Lewis
Cleaner Daze
The F Word
She’s the Ticket

Special Jury Award – Ensemble Performance
The Favourite – Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz

Gotham Tributes
Willem Dafoe
Paul Greengrass
Jon Kamen
Rachel Weisz