“Parasite” Makes History at the 2020 Oscars

"Parasite" wins the Best Picture award at the 92nd Annual Academy Awards. Photo by Rob Latour/Shutterstock (10548150na)

Although the 2020 Academy Awards didn’t have a host, the ceremony still had some memorable moments and there was one big, yet unexpected, winner of the night—Parasite.

Parasite made history at the 92nd Academy Awards becoming the first foreign-language film to win Best Picture beating the obvious front runners, The Irishman, Marriage Story, Joker, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, 1917, Ford v Ferrari, Jojo Rabbit, and Little Women.

The South Korean thriller directed by Bong Joon-Ho, started off the night winning Best Original Screenplay, followed by the International Feature Film Prize, and ending the night beating 1917’s Sam Mendes for Best Director.

After the four wins, director Bong Joon-Ho said backstage that “it’s really f—ing crazy! I’m just a very strange person. I just did what I always did with producer Kwak. I feel like something will hit me and I will wake up from this dream.”

When accepting the Oscar on stage Kwak said, “I’m speechless. We never imagined this to ever happen, we are so happy. I feel like a very opportune moment in history is happening in history right now. I express my deepest gratitude and respect for all the members of the Academy for making this decision.”

Other winners of the night included Renée Zellweger (Judy), Joaquin Phoenix (Joker), Laura Dern (Marriage Story), and Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood) who won the four acting categories. Although Sam Mendes’ 1917 went into the night with 10 nominations, it only went home with three Oscars in technical categories. The Irishman didn’t win any awards, even though it was nominated for 10.

The complete list of winners includes:

Best Picture: Parasite — Neon

Lead Actress: Renée Zellweger, Judy — LD Entertainment and Roadside Attractions

Lead Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, Joker — Warner Bros.

Director: Bong Joon Ho, Parasite — Neon

Original Song: “I’m Gonna Love Me Again,” Rocketman— Paramount

Original Score: Joker, Hildur Guðnadóttir — Warner Bros.

Best International Feature Film: Parasite, Bong Joon Ho — Neon

Makeup and Hair: Bombshell— Lionsgate

Visual Effects: 1917 — Universal/Amblin Partners

Film Editing: Ford v Ferrari, Michael McCusker, Andrew Buckland — Walt Disney

Cinematography: 1917, Roger Deakins — Universal/Amblin Partners

Sound Mixing: 1917 — Universal/Amblin Partners

Sound Editing: Ford v Ferrari, Don Sylvester — Walt Disney

Supporting Actress: Laura Dern, Marriage Story — Netflix

Best Documentary Short Subject: Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone, Carol Dysinger — A+E Networks

Best Documentary Feature: American Factory, Julia Reichert, Steven Bognar — Netflix

Costume Design: Little Women, Jacqueline Durran — Sony Pictures Releasing

Production Design: Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh — Sony Pictures Releasing

Best Live Action Short Film: The Neighbors’ Window, Marshall Curry — A Marshall Curry Production

Adapted Screenplay: Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi — Fox Searchlight

Original Screenplay: Parasite, Bong Joon Ho, Jin Won Han — Neon

Animated Short: Hair Love, Matthew A. Cherry — Sony Pictures Releasing

Animated Feature: Toy Story 4,  Josh Cooley — Walt Disney

Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood — Sony Pictures Releasing