The New Pornographers Announce New Album, Share Single

The New Pornographers announced they have a new album on the way. In the Morse Code of Brake Lights drops September 27.

Of the forthcoming album’s title, frontman and producer A.C. Newman said, “I was about two-thirds of the way through the record when I began to notice that lyrically so much of it was pointing toward car songs. The opening track is ‘You’ll Need a Backseat Driver,’ and that was a metaphor that seemed to be running through other songs, too. Next to the love song, I feel like the car song is one of the most iconic kinds of songs in pop music, from Chuck Berry to the present. There was so much of that throughout it that I started thinking: ‘Oh, no, there’s too many references to cars on this record!’ And then I thought, ‘No, that’s good—people might think it’s a concept album.’”

In the Morse Code of Brake Lights follows 2017’s Whiteout Conditions.

The band also shared the album’s lead single “Falling Down the Stairs of Your Smile.” Listen below!