“Westworld” Season 3 Receives a Premiere Date

James Marsden and Evan Rachel Wood in "Westworld"

The Emmy-winning drama will return to HBO on March 15 for the third season.

Westworld Season 3 will have eight episodes and returning are Evan Rachel Wood (Dolores), Thandie Newton (Maeve), Ed Harris (the Man in Black), Jeffrey Wright (Bernard), Tessa Thompson (Charlotte), Luke Hemsworth (Stubbs), Simon Quarterman (Lee Sizemore), and Rodrigo Santoro (Hector Escaton). Joining this season are Aaron Paul, Vincent Cassel, Lena Waithe, Scott Mescudi, Marshawn Lynch, John Gallagher Jr., and Michael and Tommy Flanagan.

The series is a “dark odyssey about the dawn of artificial consciousness and the birth of a new form of life on Earth,” according to Deadline. Season 3’s theme is “New World” and the series creator Jonathan Nolan said the inspiration comes from Blade Runner. The new season is filmed in some beautiful places in the world to capture the show’s future, “Dystopia can look pretty beautiful in the world. Just because the world is corrupt inside, doesn’t mean it can’t be smothered over and pretty. We wanted to find a version of dystopia that we hadn’t seen before,” Nolan said at Comic-Con.

Westworld has been a huge success, receiving 42 Emmy nominations and the second season won three Emmys.