2022 Gotham Awards: “Everything Everywhere All At Once” Wins Best Feature

The cast and crew of
The cast and crew of "Everything Everywhere All at Once" wins best feature at the 2022 Gotham Awards. Photo by Gabriele Holtermann/UPI/Shutterstock (13641489bk)

Everything Everywhere All at Once is one of the movies that 2022 will be remembered by and the Gotham Awards voters love it as much as the rest of us. The Gotham Awards were handed out on Monday night and this mind-bending sci-fi flick was the biggest winner of the night.

Everything Everywhere All at Once defeated the likes of Aftersun, The Cathedral, Dos Estaciones, and Tár to win the ceremony’s top award: best feature. Ke Huy Quan also won the award for outstanding supporting performance, but his co-star Michelle Yeoh ended up losing to Danielle Deadwyler in Till.

This isn’t the first major award that Everything Everywhere All at Once picked up, and it probably won’t be the last. It’s the most nominated movie at the upcoming Independent Spirit Awards with a total of eight nods, including best feature, best director, and several acting awards.

The list of winners at this year’s Gotham Awards also included the best documentary feature All That Breathes and the best international feature Happening. Awards were given to several new TV shows, including Pachinko for a breakthrough long-form series and Mo for breakthrough short-form series. Adam Sandler and Michelle Williams received performer tributes, while the cast of Fire Island was honored with ensemble tribute.


Best Feature

Everything Everywhere All at Once
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, directors; Joe Russo, Anthony Russo, Mike Larocca, Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang, producers (A24)

Outstanding Lead Performance

Danielle Deadwyler in Till (United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Ke Huy Quan in Everything Everywhere All at Once (A24)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Charlotte Wells for Aftersun (A24)

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)

Soo Hugh, creator; Soo Hugh, Michael Ellenberg, Lindsey Springer, Theresa Kang-Lowe, Richard Middleton, Kogonada, Justin Cho, executive producers (Apple TV+)

Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)

Mohammed Amer, Ramy Youssef, creators; Mohammed Amer, Ramy Youssef, Ravi Nandan, Hallie Sekoff, Solvan “Slick” Naim, Harris Danow, Luvh Rakhe, executive producers (Netflix)

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

We Need To Talk About Cosby
W. Kamau Bell, creator and director; W. Kamau Bell, Andrew Fried, Katie A. King, Vinnie Malhotra, Dane Lillegard, Sarina Roma, Jordan Wynn, executive producers (Showtime)

Outstanding Performance in a New Series

Ben Whishaw in This is Going to Hurt (AMC+ in association with BBC)

Best Documentary Feature

All That Breathes
Shaunak Sen, director; Aman Mann, Shaunak Sen, Teddy Leifer producers (A Sideshow & Submarine Deluxe Release in Association with HBO Documentary Films)

Best International Feature

Audrey Diwan, director; Edouard Weil, Alice Girard producers (IFC Films)

Best Screenplay

Tár, Todd Field (Focus Features)

Breakthrough Performer

Gracija Filipovic in Murina (Kino Lorber)