2023 BIFA Awards: “All of Us Strangers” Walks Away With Seven Prizes

Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal in
Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal in "All of Us Strangers"

The British Independent Film Awards returned to celebrate the best of indie cinema this Sunday night and showered All Of Us Strangers with accolades. This acclaimed drama was honored with seven awards at this year’s BIFAs, including the coveted best British film award.

All Of Us Strangers received 14 nods at this year’s ceremony, behind romantic comedy film Rye Lane with 16 and Scrapper with 14 nominations. That didn’t stop this film from dominating most of the major categories, starting with the best British independent film.

All Of Us Strangers defeated the likes of Femme, How to Have S-x, Rye Lane, and Scrapper to win the ceremony’s main award. This film also won prizes for best cinematography, editing, and music supervision, while Andrew Haigh was named the best director and screenwriter.

When it comes to acting awards, Mia McKenna-Bruce impressed the voters with her performance in How to Have S-x. She faced tough competition from Jodie Comer, Andrew Scott, and Tilda Swinton and defeated them all to win the trophy for best lead performance. Her co-star Shaun Thomas collected the award for best supporting performance, tying with Paul Mescal for All of Us Strangers.

The 2023 British Independent Film Awards were held in London on December 3, with Lolly Adefope and Kiell Smith-Bynoe serving as hosts.


Best British Independent Film

All of Us Strangers

Best Director

Andrew Haigh (All of Us Strangers)

Best International Independent Film

Anatomy Of A Fall

Best British Short Film

Festival of Slaps

The Raindance Maverick Award

If the Streets Were on Fire

Best Debut Director – Feature Documentary

Chloe Abrahams (The Taste of Mango)

Breakthrough Producer

Theo Barrowclough (Scrapper)

Best Debut Screenwriter

Nida Manzoor (Polite Society)

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Savanah Leaf (Earth Mama)

Best Feature Documentary

If the Streets Were on Fire

Breakthrough Performance

Vivian Oparah (Rye Lane)

Best Supporting Performance

Paul Mescal (All of Us Strangers)

Shaun Thomas (How to Have S-x)

Best Screenplay

Andrew Haigh (All of Us Strangers)

Best Lead Performance

Mia McKenna-Bruce (How to Have S-x)

Best Joint Lead Performance

Nathan Stewart-Jarrett and George MacKay (Femme)

Special Jury Prize

We Are Parable