2022 British Independent Film Awards: “Aftersun” Wins Seven Trophies

Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal in
Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal in "Aftersun"

Aftersun entered this year’s British Independent Film Awards as the ceremony’s most nominated film and it managed to live up to the expectations. This poignant drama topped the list of winners at this year’s ceremony with a total of seven awards, including best British independent film.

The critically acclaimed drama about a father-daughter duo going on a summer vacation in Turkey managed to beat the likes of Blue Jean, The Wonder, Living, and Good Luck to You, Leo Grande, to win the night’s biggest award. Its writer-director Charlotte Wells also picked up the trophies for the best director, best debut director, and best screenplay.

Aftersun also came out vicious in several technical categories, such as best cinematography, editing, and music supervision. Surprisingly enough, it lost in all the acting categories it was nominated for, including the best joint lead performance by Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal.

The Blue Jean actresses Rosy McEwen and Kerrie Hayes won awards for the best lead and supporting performance, respectively. Letitia Wright and Tamara Lawrance picked up the trophy for best joint lead performance in The Silent Twins.

The 2022 British Independent Film Award took place on December 4 at Old Billingsgate in London, with Ben Bailey Smith serving as a host.


Best British Independent Film


Best Documentary

“Nothing Compares”

Best British Short Film

“Too Rough”

Best International Independent Film

“The Worst Person in the World”

Best Director

Charlotte Wells – “Aftersun”

Best Screenplay

Charlotte Wells – “Aftersun”

Best Lead Performance
Rosy McEwen – “Blue Jean”

Best Supporting Performance

Kerrie Hayes – “Blue Jean”

Best Joint Lead Performance

Tamara Lawrance, Letitia Wright – “The Silent Twins”

Best Ensemble Performance

“Our River… Our Sky” ensemble including Zainab Joda, Darina Al Joundi, Amed Hashimi, Mahmoud Abo Al Abbas, Basim Hajar, Labwa Arab, Meriam Abbas, Siham Mustafa

Breakthrough Performance

Safia Oakley-Green – “The Origin”

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Charlotte Wells – “Aftersun”

Best Debut Director – Feature Documentary

Kathryn Ferguson – “Nothing Compares”

Breakthrough Producer

Nadira Murray – “Winners”

The Raindance Discovery Award


Best Casting

Shaheen Baig – “Blue Jean”

Best Costume Design

Jenny Beavan – “Mrs Harris Goes To Paris”

Best Cinematography

Gregory Oke – “Aftersun”

Best Editing

Blair McClendon – “Aftersun”

Best Original Music

Matthew Herbert – “The Wonder”

Best Effects

David Simpson – “Men”

Best Sound

Tim Harrison, Raoul Brand, Cassandra Rutledge – “Flux Gourmet”

Best Make-Up & Hair Design

Eugene Souleiman, Scarlett O’Connell – “Medusa Deluxe”

Best Music Supervision

Lucy Bright – “Aftersun”

Best Production Design

Helen Scott – “Living”